Games - Winning Numbers
How To Play MegaMillions

Starting with the October 22, 2013, drawing, Mega Millions players will see changes that include larger starting jackpots, faster growing jackpots, a million-dollar second prize and better overall odds of winning any prize—all for the same $1 players now pay. Some of the changes include:

Mega Millions Official Rules
  • Megaplier® is adding a 5x multiplier. Odds of a "5" being drawn
    are 1 in 2.5.
  • Players can win up to $5 Million with Megaplier®.
  • The minimum starting jackpot will increase from $12 million to $15 million. The odds of winning the jackpot will be 1 in 258,890,850.
  • The Match 5 + 0 prize will increase from $250,000 to $1 million.
  • The 26-year annuity payout will increase to a 30-year annuity payout.
  • The number of white balls to choose from will increase from 56 to 75.
  • The number of Megaballs® to choose from will decrease from 46 to 15.
  • The overall odds of winning will change from 1 in 39.9 to 1 in 14.71.

The following table represents the Taper Down Schedule for Mega Millions®, which shows the number of future draws that may be purchased prior to the given draw date. Players will again be able to purchase 20 future draws after Friday, October 18.

The Countdown for the number of Mega Millions® Multi Draws that can be purchased begins: Tuesday, August 13. After the Mega Millions® drawing on Tuesday, August 13, players may purchase up to 19 Multi Draws. The number of Multi Draws available for purchase will decrease by one following each draw until the drawing on Friday, October 18.

Draw Dates* Draw Dates*
Tuesday, August 13, 2013  - 20 Draws Friday, September 20, 2013  - 9 Draws
Friday, August 16, 2013  - 19 Draws Tuesday, September 24, 2013  - 8 Draws
Tuesday, August 20, 2013  - 18 Draws Friday, September 27, 2013  - 7 Draws
Friday, August 23, 2013  - 17 Draws Tuesday, October 01, 2013  - 6 Draws
Tuesday, August 27, 2013  - 16 Draws Friday, October 04, 2013  - 5 Draws
Friday, August 30, 2013  - 15 Draws Tuesday, October 08, 2013  - 4 Draws
Tuesday, September 03, 2013  - 14 Draws Friday, October 11, 2013  - 3 Draws
Friday, September 06, 2013  - 13 Draws Tuesday, October 15, 2013  - 2 Draws
Tuesday, September 10, 2013  - 12 Draws Friday, October 18, 2013  - 1 Draw
Friday, September 13, 2013  - 11 Draws Tuesday, October 22, 2013  - 20 Draws
Tuesday, September 17, 2013  - 10 Draws    

* Number of draws represents the maximum number available for purchase prior to the draw break at 10 p.m. before the Mega Millions® drawing.



Odds title MegaMillions Overall Odds
MegaMillions odds
MegaMillions Megaplier odds


Every effort is made to ensure the accuracy of all information contained on this site. This site, however, is not the final authority on games, winning numbers, or other information. All winning tickets must be validated by the SCEL before prizes will be paid. You must be 18 years of age or older to play the games of the South Carolina Education Lottery. Our site is constantly updated with new information. Please check back often.
© Copyright 2005, South Carolina Education Lottery. All rights reserved.